Growing Lettuce, Bok Choy and Scallions in February: Step 1

Can I grow lettuce, bok choy and green onions from kitchen scraps?

scrap sproutingYesterday, we went to the hardware store and bought seed starting mix, grow lights, and other paraphernalia for the first stages of our new garden.  I planted my onion seeds in leftover takeout trays, as well as a little pot of catnip for the days when Cat A and Cat B are good boys (assuming that happens.  Someday.)

However, this is insufficient.  The onions will take forever.  I can’t eat the catnip.  (Well, I probably could, but I’d rather not.)  I want to be really growing things.  Showering the mandevilla and turning the Norfolk pine every few days are fine tasks, but I want to grow something I can eat.

This post about growing vegetables from kitchen scraps has been making the rounds.  I have a sunny kitchen window.  I also have re-subscribed to a local CSA, so this week I received some local organic lettuce and bok choy, and I had scallions in the fridge.

So I’ve cleaned the lettuce, stir-fried the bok choy and scallions, and made myself a little windowside garden to tide me over until the spring.  Let’s see what happens!

Leave a Reply

