Things I Love About My House Today

Ever since we moved in, we’ve been struggling with the living room.  Yesterday, we fixed it.  I wish I’d taken some “before” pictures, but suffice to say, we couldn’t figure out what to do with the window/heater wall, and now we’ve made it into a nook.  Is there anything better than a nook?

IMG_0377

IMG_0381

IMG_0398

So now I love a new thing about our house.

Another new thing: I discovered today that if you’re making brownies and you need to temper the butter and warm the eggs, you can put them on the cookbook shelves at the top of the basement stairs!  The basement is always surprisingly warm, so I’m also planning to start my seedlings down there.

Find the butter and eggs.

Find the butter and eggs.

Note: my absolute never-fail-even-when-it-fails brownie recipe is from the Moosewood Cookbook, which also contains the world’s best recipe for brown rice pudding.

I’m worried about my mandevillas making it through the winter (note the potato slices in the pot in the nook picture; I’m trying to root out the gnats, and it seems to be working.)  However, I’m very pleased with the little pink nerve plant some friends gave us as a housewarming gift.

IMG_0386 IMG_0389The cats are happy that the shuffling of the living room landed their tower in front of my office window.

His eye hasn't entirely healed, but it's doing much better.

His eye hasn’t entirely healed, but it’s doing much better.

Also, the mung beans have sprouted!  I will make them into pancakes.

IMG_0399So today I love my house.

Leave a Reply

